Making the Move to DSLR

CamaroDMD

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have always enjoyed photography but all I have ever own are little point and shoot cameras as I have had a very limited budget. I want to enter the world of DSLR cameras and begin learning how to use one properly. I am just about to graduate from dental school and have a little experience with the Canon Rebel. We use them for intraoral photography of our patients, so I have some knowledge about how they function and can use them a little. My experience is limited to a macro lens (not sure which one) and a ring flash.

Outside of dental school, my sole experience is with point and shoot cameras...I currently have a Sony DSC-W230. It is fun to use...but I want something better. I don't have a specific photography interest. I just like to take all kinds of photos. Lately, landscapes and flowers have been my most common usage. I also enjoy going to museums and airports and photographing airplanes.