Manual film SLR!..but which one..?

Slnce-z-GSI

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi, I am searching for quite some the for any informations on manual SLRs. I am planning to buy one - now is time to choose. There are tons of used and also some new models on the market and it is not easy to orient.
BTW - I have some little experience on manual film SLR and I am also using C-5060 for ~ 1year for different kind of photography.

Yes - I approximately know WHAT I want to do:
1) landscape and nature photography (some ~ 300mm lens later)
2) makro photography
3) "low light" - mainly outdoor.

What are my candidates?

first of all - of course - there is some price limit - let's say not much more than some 700$ for body and 50mm lens. The cheaper body I will manage to buy, the more I will be able to spent on lenses.

so:

FM3a, FE2, FM10, Yashica FX3 super 2000, Pentax LX, Contax Aria, Contax RX, Maybee some OM? , ...

What else come into your mind?

Of course - all of them have some pros and cons (price for lens, aviability on the market, technical issues) and I would like to ask YOU what would you advice me to chose - or - NOT to chose ?

More specific questions:

How much will I miss the mirror lock-up?
Any particular problems with mentioned (or other) models ?
What about accesories for these guys(lenses, teleconvertors...) ?

Just let me add at the end - I am just using older Zenit 12 XP and it looks like i will enjoy this world.

Thanks for any commets or advices.
:hail:

Welcome to the forum.

You seem to be concerned with a "manual" camera. Do you mean manual focus or manual exposure?

I would suggest looking at a newer auto focus camera, you can still use manual focus and manual exposure if you want...and the availability of lenses & accessories should be better. Of course there are great older manual focus cameras out there so if that's what you want, go for it.

Will you miss MLU...you might, especially with macro photography and low light (long exposure) photography.