Manual Flash: shutter and aperture

guitarmy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Question for you flashers (hah).

I'm trying to get away from TTL with my flash unit, so I'm learning manual flash.

However, I'm kinda lost as to the difference that shutter speed makes on a flash picture as compared to the difference the aperture makes on a flash picture.

Flash is supposed to freeze motion, right? So is the shutter speed then just to control the ambient light coming in? Does it control flash fall-off as well?

What about aperture, then? Does it control anything other than DOF? Well, I know that if I stop down there will be less light hitting the sensor, but still. I guess what I'm asking is: in flash photography, what should I use the aperture to control? What should I use the shutter to control?

i'm also a newbie...but as far as i know

when using a flash.....aperture affects the expose on flash.....shutter on the other hand doesnt affect the flash exposure much......shutter is used to capture the ambient.....because flash duration is very short compare to the shutter speed.......so depending on whether you want pure flash or ambinet + flash....you would adjust your aperture and shutter accordingly

You have two different light sources. Your flash is instantaneous (near enough) blink and you'll miss it. In fact, you'll probably miss it anyway, whereas other lights are continuous, you can see them all the time.

Because flash is instantaneous , your shutter speed does not affect the exposure of the flash. Hence, if flash was your only source of illumination (as in a studio) you could use any length of exposure from 1/250 (or whatever your highest sync speed is) to 3 minutes and providing your subject stayed still, you would get exactly the same picture.

When mixing ambient with flash, essentially yes, the aperture controls the flash exposure and the shutter speed controls the ambient exposure. The way I do it is: