Micro Four Thirds: Is it worth it?

DJM

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi,

I'm looking at DSLRs and have looked at the Micro Four Thirds system, what I was wondering was, should I get into this system or wait/get a DSLR until the system is fully established?

EDIT: I am a beginner photographer and am wanting a quality camera that is easy-ish to use and fairly cheap, as for what I would be using it for - i would take a range of photos from landscape to urban to action. Mostly daytime, the occasional nighttime snap. What manufactures use this system and what are the best entry level cameras that still leave some room for 'growth'?

thanks

Last edited:
The m4/3rds is already very well established in the market.

As for what you should get - the first question is what do you want from your camera system? How do you want to use it - where - when - how - what do you want to take photos of etc.. Without more info we really can't give any meaningful advice other than a stream of "I bought this so you should too" replies.

I very seriously considered the 4/3 system. I am still considering it. The idea is on hold for me though because it is a very expensive change. The lenses are very very expensive for what you are getting. DSLR lenses are much more affordable in comparison.

M4/3rds have a 2x crop factor. Canon APS-C size image sensors have a 1.6x crop factor, and Nikon APS-C size image sensiors have a 1.5x crop factor.

Crop factor increases as image sensors get smaller. Canon's APS-C image sensor is somewhat larger than M4/3rds and Nikon's APS-C image sensor is slightly larger than Canon's APS-C image sensor.

The smaller an image sensor is the less it costs to make. The smallest image sensors are usually in the least expensive cameras.