Migrating from Point and Shoot to DSLR, need help deciding...

rasheemo

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey guys! I am a beginner looking to make photography a hobby, and i have finally decided to go for a DSLR. after reading a lot of reviews i have come to the following possible choices:

Olympus E510 @ $477 with two kit lenses or XTi with 1 lens @ $390

These are the purposes for which i would like to use the camera:

Basic portraits, some landscapes, half indoor half outdoor shots, nothing crazy.

I took a photo class so i know about F-stops, shutter speeds, ISO, aperture and the basics and i figured one of the two would be a good camera for me to start with without killing my wallet (too much lol).

the thing is, i heard the Olympus kit lenses were a lot better in quality than the XTi kit lens, and i don't really plan on purchasing lenses since they are more expensive than the camera itself. =[

I am however, interested in wide angle lenses to shoot landscapes but i cant find one below 100 dollars so i guess that's out. =[

the canon is refurbished and the olympus is new, although i dont mind if its used or not, i'm really looking for value.

i'm not looking to purchase too many accessories so take that into consideration. maybe a few filters and a lens pen but thats it.

i am really just looking to spend max 600 dollars including memory, bag, and cleaning stuff, i simply cannot afford to buy another lens, as i am just a college student. of course, once i get a good job i can go crazy, but for now i just want an improvement over my casio exilim point and shoot so i can officially make photography a hobby. This camera will last me at least 3 years without needing extra lenses, so that is the most important thing as far as choosing my purchase