Mirror 500mm lens. ..

PaulSanderson

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi guys and gals,

Im a novice to photography and don't know the ins and outs of kit yet, and someone has offered me a 500mm "mirror" lens.

Whats the difference both in image quality and operation between this and a conventional 500mm lens.

Any advice would be appreciated!!

Many thanks...

Sent from my .....

Last edited by a moderator:
All considerations aside, mirror lenses generally tend to create softer images. They're generally not as sharp as their lensed cousins.

Another issue is the doughnut-shaped bokeh. Many don't care for it.

Mirror lenses are also fixed aperture. 500mm's are usually f/8.......... and that's all you get. Some have the ability to put small ND filters in them, but they tend to be useless. F/8 makes for a dim VF to start with.

IF it is free... go for it! IF they want money.. RUN! lol!

There are quite a few 500mm mirror lenses, some are better than others. so- what 500 mirror lens were you offered, what camera, and how much?

Nikkor 500/8, on film (Stearman and Yellowcrown) and early digital (Geese/Osprey)

Attachments

• $airshow14a.jpg
    $airshow14a.jpg
    80.4 KB · Views: 787
  • $yellow_RF_POST.JPG
    $yellow_RF_POST.JPG
    200.2 KB · Views: 559
  • $osp_geese.jpg
    $osp_geese.jpg
    155.7 KB · Views: 616
Thanks for replies everybody...I was offered a Hanimex (?) 500mm and he said it was fixed to F8.0...he only wanted £55 for it...

...you think it's better to leave it alone and just save for a sigma 500 or something like that...

Cheers once again - its appreciated...

Sent from my ......

Last edited by a moderator:
That is a very good price, it is a decent lens- probably on par with the third-party 500/8 lenses of the day. You could buy it, and easily sell it for that price if you upgrade later.