Model Shot - Feedback?

shrutebucks

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey guys, I'm looking for some feedback on this picture I took of a friend...I really like it - but I think the lighting could be improved. I took this photo in her basement where the lighting was not great, and I don't have an external flash. I shot this in manual mode with my rebel XSi.

I played around with it in photoshop but I'm fairly new to photoshop as well, and don't have a lot of knowledge on creating good lighting setups.

Feel free to edit - how would you improve this shot?

Thanks!

Xtina%20Photoshoot%20093.JPG

The background isn't a good thing. It too closely matches her skin tone and her left arm (the one on the right) is almost blending into the background completely.

Also, her eyes and hair are a bit dark.

The following is all just my humble opinion:

I've got an aversion to cats so for me, it takes away from a picture of a pretty girl. I do like how they're both looking at the camera though,

If I were there with the camera I'd ask her to hold the cat up and have her make eye contact with it. Something different maybe. Her expression is pretty blank here.

If you're on a budget you could get creative with light. Buy a clamp work light from a home improvement store and put a plastic jug over it as a diffuser (like $8 USD total..). Anything is better than a pop-up flash or the dim lights in the basement.

hey thanks for the reply...yeah i realize the colour is too close to her skin tone. the cat was being a little rowdy so I was lucky to get that shot as it was, haha...she just wanted to put it down ASAP.

i'm very much on a budget and want to create a cheap lighting setup for future projects...thanks for the tip on the work light. what kind of jug, like a pail? and use it to cover the light, or to direct the light flow in the way I need?

I do plan on reading more about lighting...saw a nice thread in this section. thanks for the tips :D