Mt. Ranier - First attempt at HDR. C&C please...

brazilnutjr

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
4268502344_523245e108_b.jpg

This is my first attempt at HDR. The image is composed (and tweaked) of two pictures I took of Mt. Ranier from a dry creek bed. Any critique or tips appreciated... Thanks!

..... ehem....clearing my throat!!!.....hackemmmm...

OK... THIS SHOT IS NOT HDR MATERIAL!!!!!!
Why on earth would you need HDR there.. A properly exposed shot would yeild a much better sharper image. I would shot it like this....

1. Stop down to around F/18-20
2.Shoot ISO 100 or lower..
3. Expose for 1/8th-1/2th a sec a play around with the exposure times to get it right.
4. If you have one use a ND filter. a 6-8 stop filter would be good there. Better yet.. A circular polarizer would really make the colors pop..

Word of advise...stay away from hdr for the next two months and learn basic shooting techniques. Then once you get it out of your system...sit back and marvel at your wonderful non hdr pictures... j/k

oh and BTW.... for a good hdr you will want 3-5 shot at different stops.

but seriously hdr does have a place but this is just not one of them.. Truthfully a good filter would really make that scene pop.

What does the original look like? Could you post it?
I think it would help.

The mtn looks off as do the colors,...that could be from HDR.

Why on earth would you need HDR there.. A properly exposed shot would yeild a much better sharper image. I would shot it like this....

3. Expose for 1/8th-1/2th a sec a play around with the exposure times to get it right.
4. If you have one use a ND filter. a 6-8 stop filter would be good there. Better yet.. A circular polarizer would really make the colors pop..

Word of advise...stay away from hdr for the next two months and learn basic shooting techniques. Then once you get it out of your system...sit back and marvel at your wonderful non hdr pictures... j/k