sm4him

In memoriam
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Website
sm4him.500px.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
This is the landscape at one of my favorite local spots for birding. During the summer, the lake levels are so high, I can't even get to the spot to take this photo, but now that the lake levels are coming down, the road can be accessed again. This was taken just this past Saturday; I'll be back out there on Friday (I hope), and my bet is that the water will be quite a bit lower already. By late fall/early winter, if I took a picture of the same spot, you'd see no water at all.

Anyway...I'm not very good at B&W, but I'd like to work on it a little.
So I'd love some opinions on this, and/or suggestions on conversion techniques. As I said, I hope to be back out there on Friday, so I may take another shot at this, though the likelihood of getting one boat in the water like that is slim, and that's part of what I like about this photo. I have one from the exact same spot on the same day without the boat, but I prefer this one.

1. Original color version--I swear I straightened the horizon, but now it looks a bit off. Bother.

2. B&W conversion. All I did to convert was chose Adjustments--Black & White (in PS), then moved the sliders around until it seemed I got something that seemed okay.

I have some opinions about how the B&W turned out, but I'll wait and see what others say first.

Just for fun: Here's a shot of the same basic area last March, just as TVA started raising the water levels. I was standing considerably further to the right in this shot, plus it's a wider angle, but you can get the basic idea. That road is completely submerged right now.

Last edited:
I like them both, but my mind thinks the B&W is sand, and not water for the first couple of seconds.

I like them both, but my mind thinks the B&W is sand, and not water for the first couple of seconds.