My first attempt at photography

jpenna

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey everyone...

I've been a videographer for a while, but I recently bought a Nikon D50 to test out photography. Here are some shots I took around the house/backyard when I first un-UPS'ed the camera :)

I know I still have lots to learn (reading the Nikon manual now), but does anyone have any suggestions?

1:
2539202649_e983408bb1.jpg

2:
2543363057_299d93ba5d.jpg

3:
2544186108_5998308962.jpg

4:
2540024398_6c8efe5266.jpg

5 - one of my faves (he loves posing to the camera):
2539202543_406a1d7704.jpg

6 - he does get tired of posing, though... this one was more of a DOF test:
2540024750_58e3bb0da3.jpg

7:
2540024054_331024a924.jpg

8 - i like the droplets here, but I wish the stylus was a little more pronounced:
2540024668_022fcf77cc.jpg

9 - note to self, water the flowers:
2540023894_bd95b29eaa.jpg

10 - ugh, i hate spiders... one of my favorite shots so far, though:
2539202201_68f3077b32.jpg

11 - currently my desktop background:
2540451956_b87393f563.jpg

12:
2539201977_fbd6888673.jpg

13:
2540023710_ac8d982125.jpg

14 - a little too busy:
2539202261_d175d4981c.jpg

15:
2539201911_f9742e3dec.jpg

Your nature shots are all fantastic. Great focus and vivid colours!

I feel you should be more aware of background in your first shots though. Taking the second shot for example, I see you've been quick to capture the pose of the girl and not allowed yourself time to align the background elements. The ceiling of the shop for example has some squre tiles that would look more photogenic if made parallel with the top of the image border. There's a similar 'tilt' in the next image too.

It takes a while to get used to taking both foreground AND background into account when setting a scene. We naturally prefer to focus only on the subject so it's a good habit to get into early on in your photography.

Thanks Ric!