My First Macro Shots - Please Give Advice!!

The_Saint

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm 14 years old, and VERY NEW TO PHOTOGRAPHY. I'M A NEWBIE.

Please give comments, Crit and Advice and these( MY FIRST MACRO SHOTS EVER)

2203936320_96c4e57b21_b.jpg

2203141727_c7183a9a7e_b.jpg

2203930410_7a8c3ec8b8_b.jpg

2203133865_b7f2d48697_b.jpg

2203927924_371b1fde03_b.jpg

I like the first one, I like how you captured the web between the flowers and have the rest a bit soft.

The pics after that I dont care for, the subject seems to take up too much of the frame....a bit overwhelming. Not to mention most of them are too soft (have no focus point)

Looks like you shot them with a lensbaby cause of how soft they are. I agree with Freedbaby, its to overwhelming.

Shot it with a Canon IXUS 4mp. rubbish camera. Saving up for a new one. With changeable lenses and all that.

Cool another 14 year old, haha.

I think your first one is by far the best, the one's after that are good experiments, but they will never be anything special.

Here's a photoshop edit I did on your first photo. I think it helped a bit:
your original:
webflowersmall.png

my edit:
webflowereditedcopy.png

My steps were:
-cloning out the webs
-darkening the shot
-adding contrast
-applying unsharp mask

That's all. Sometimes little edits help shots.

Heres a few more, Let me know what you think!!

2203693227_17be01cfd5_b.jpg

2204474038_461b7b9587_b.jpg

2204470504_161bc3663f_b.jpg

2203677191_359f17645b_b.jpg

2204462572_d0204509f4_b.jpg

The model airplane prop isn't bad, but the rest don't do anything for me.

The model airplane is good. The second set of pictures is much better, you're definitely improving, keep it up.

why is macro like crack for noobs? Your WB is way off but you got potential!

why is macro like crack for noobs? Your WB is way off but you got potential!