My first model portrait shots ever - Feedback Welcomed

inaka

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I primarily shoot landscapes and have never done portrait photography. I'm really new at this, but recently, I picked up a cheap lighting kit on Craigslist just to play around, and took a few shots.

I would welcome any feedback:

hvnpGO3.jpg

Woix6Nm.jpg

3XMd2TK.jpg

3WMYd06.jpg

2ACKcx0.jpg

Images were taken with a with my Nikon D7000, 35mm, f/1.8, 1/8000, ISO 100. Lighting was just my old trusty SB-600 speedlight, and a strobe with colored gels from Craigslist.

Again, any feedback is appreciated for me to improve, thanks.

As far as getting a better rendering of a human face, it's best to avoid shooting from too close a distance with a short lens length. I can see that she has a prominent nose, and in such cases, the advice above goes double. The last photo shows the distorting of facial feature size to the highest degree.

As far as the lighting, it's a challenge to work with hard light on people, but for the most part, you did a good job of placing your main light. On most of these, there are large dark areas with no detail, so a tiny bit of fill light on her figure/clothes would change the complexion of these shots quite a bit. Shot #1 shows how a hard, crisp main light works when it hits an upturned face, with the light coming from above. The others show,well, how light rakes across a face, and how it reveals and obscures. Overall, much better than my first attempts with this type of hard light, which I recall with utter dismay. Keep working with what you have, on all types of subjects. There's a lot of stuff that can be done with lights and lighting.