My first try at portrait lighting, and composition

BLD_007

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So I got my package today from BnH. Two vivitar 285s, 3 PocketWizards, two stands + umbrellas

Also a 24-70 2.8 L

Here is my first try at portrait lighting and off camera lighting.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/47802301@N03/4385374375/

What do you think? I don't think its half bad for only having the stuff out of the box less than 20min.

Damn, I just saw that its tilted. O well, it was just for fun

first off, from what I've seen in my short time here, if you post a link to a picture, you won't get as much C&C...

"][COLOR=

Second... You should definitely be zoomed a bit closer to him and make a tighter crop on the top... All the stuff at the top is distracting... He only takes up the lower right 25% of the frame... That definitely doesn't sit well with most photographers...

Keep in mind, I am by no means an expert, I am simply going from experience from what I've read "better photographers" saying in their C&C on things ;)

first off, from what I've seen in my short time here, if you post a link to a picture, you won't get as much C&C...

4385374375_7bfb984689.jpg

Second... You should definitely be zoomed a bit closer to him and make a tighter crop on the top... All the stuff at the top is distracting... He only takes up the lower right 25% of the frame... That definitely doesn't sit well with most photographers...

Keep in mind, I am by no means an expert, I am simply going from experience from what I've read "better photographers" saying in their C&C on things ;)

Thats me btw =p

Also, that thing hanging on the wall is our Fraternities shield. There is only 4 of them in the world and we have one of em. I was trying to get it in the shot as well.

I also was wanting to light a fire but could not find the lighter lol.