ND filters - does more $ = better results

SquarePeg

hear me roar
Staff member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
This is something that has been discussed several times on this site with no consensus. Here’s a decent comparison of several brands across all price points. It’s a very short video, worth a view if you’ve been thinking of picking up a ND filter.

Neutral Density Filters Compared: Is It OK to Go Cheap?

I do not use filters now but when I did I would never buy the cheapest because most of the time in life you only get what you have paid for.........

Really just get those affordable multicoated filters from Hoya.

More money wont have much effect, if any.

I got a variable ND filter recently . I forget the brand and will check but it does generate the dreaded X at 7 to 8 stops. I find that often six stops is not enough but I am new to ND. I plan to start experimenting with in camera multiple exposure at six stops to see if I can simulate a higher number of stops.

Mine was $94 but I think I'd have gotten better results with the one that was $30 more.

Really just get those affordable multicoated filters from Hoya.

More money wont have much effect, if any.
More money will generally have an effect, but you quickly get in to the law of diminishing returns; is the very small improvement of a $500+ Singh Ray over a $125 B+W worth it? Probably not to most people.

I had a nice Hoya variable up to 9 stops and worked well and was around 100.00 but i dropped it on some rocks and didn't survive but have that been as John mentioned a 500.00 + Singh Ray i would have been crying and if its something not used that often seems a waste spending that much on any filter to each there own tho.

Last edited:
I have a graduated ND filter that I use for time lapse photography. I like to use it for running streams and water falls. I think I paid about $160 for it at B&H.