Need a Counseling :(

The_Wanderer

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello Friends,

I have posted few photos in this forum and learned many things from this forum, I thank everyone who commented and as well corrected me. Since my interest is increasing day by day towards Photography, I am even ready to quit the job which I am doing now and concentrate fully on Photography, I am writing this here to get some guidance or idea. I myself not clear in my mind about what to do. I am planning to quit my present Job, I am thinking of pursuing a new route (Photography), I am not a PRO or I do not have any high end camera too. All I have is interest to learn more and more in photography and would like to make it full time rather than some weekend stuffs. My question is.. What should be done to pursue a future with Photography, I am more interested in Nature or Wild Life ( some times wonder how to Join National Geographic channel etc ), I am not a business man, so I do not have any Idea nor Interest for Model, Marriage, Party etc photography. Dear friends, kindly suggest, need a counseling to be precise. Thank you :)

NotSureIfSerious.jpg

To be blunt: Give your head a long shake! This is setting yourself up for failure. Don't quit your job; use it to finance your intended second career (photographer). Take business courses, learn business and advertising strategy, learn how the financial end of a business works. Build up your gear. Pro gear is not just about bigger and fancier, it's about durable. Build up your 'L' glass while you still have a 'real' job. Actively seek out jobs as a photographer, whether wedding portrait, etc. When you're not studying and not shooting paid gigs, spend your time outside shooting nature and landscape shots. Work on your marketing.

Everyone wants to be a famous landscape photographer. Unfortunately, this is about the toughest part of photography to make it in... You may not like weddings and parties, but they pay the bills!