Need advice on Tamron SP 70-300mm F/4-5.6 Di VC USD

diwata

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi, I'm new in photography and now thinking of getting Tamron SP 70-300mm F/4-5.6 Di VC USD lens for portrait shots, wedding particularly. I already have prime lens (50mm f1.8) but I need telephoto for events/weddings photography. My question is, can Tamron SP 70-300mm F/4-5.6 Di VC USD do a good job? I've read lots of good reviews of this lens but I'm wondering why all the sample shots I found on the internet with this lens are only related to nature, animals, birds and so on. I could hardly find sample shots of this lens related to portrait esp weddings. The lens is already on the top of my list because it's affordable and I can't afford to buy 70-300mm f2.8 yet but will you recommend Tamron SP 70-300mm F/4-5.6 Di VC USD lens for events/weddings photography? Your professional advise is highly appreciated.

BTW, I'm new in this forum and hope to meet new friends.

Diwata

On an APS-C body, a slowish 70-300mm f/4 to f/5.6 lens is 1) narrow in angle of view and 2) very slow, aperture wise at longer focal lengths and 3) difficult to use for weddings held indoors except for tightly-framed shots.

Weddings often have many people, in close proximity to one another, and also close to the photographer. With a lens at 70mm on a 1.6x camera, you need to be like 25 feet away to shoot a full-length picture of a standing bride and groom, and at 85mm, you must be 34.5 feet away to get an 8.45 foot tall field of view. That means you MUUST be 7 to 12 meters away from the subjects...at that distance, bystanders can easily walk right between you and your subjects.

A 70-300 f/4~5.6 is a "slow" lens, and if the light is dimmer, you will need to use VERY high ISO levels, or flash. Outdoors, in good, bright light, it is handy, but it does lack the ability to do a group shot unless you back wayyyyyyyy up to 7 to 15 meters distant.