Need DSLR camera and lens recommendation for beginner.

icedlatte

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Let me give some details so you understand what my needs are. I'm just getting into photography, starting some classes and in hope to start my own professional business as soon as possible, probably in the portraits/studio/beauty/outdoors areas, a little close up shots and lots of bokeh. My budget is about $1500, but must include all the essentials, as in camera, and hopefully 2-3 lenses. What are the best options I can get in this area? What lenses are most recommended for me? I am more in favor of Nikon or Canons. The camera has to be good enough for a small home grown business.
Thanking in advance!

icedlatte said:
Let me give some details so you understand what my needs are. I'm just getting into photography, starting some classes and in hope to start my own professional business as soon as possible, probably in the portraits/studio/beauty/outdoors areas, a little close up shots and lots of bokeh. My budget is about $1500, but must include all the essentials, as in camera, and hopefully 2-3 lenses. What are the best options I can get in this area? What lenses are most recommended for me? I am more in favor of Nikon or Canons. The camera has to be good enough for a small home grown business.
Thanking in advance!

I'm fine with recommending a camera to a beginner, but I can't do so if the beginner wants to make a business out of it "as soon as possible." It's unethical, IMO. And a bad way to start off in the field.

A few photography courses do not a portrait photographer make. Unless of course, you have a very nice portfolio, in which case I retract my last statement.