Need help choosing first camera

TripleDigitRide

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Let me preface this post by admitting that I know almost nothing about photography. Other than simple point and shoot or cell phone cameras, I have zero experience. However, I do know I've had a passion to get into photography — at the very least — as a hobby. Until now, my hobby has been firearms. I'm hoping to somehow combine both hobbies from time to time.

I digress. I've been looking at some camera options that are within my current budget of $500-$700. For one reason or another, I've been looking at the Nikon D3200. Through Best Buy, I can get the D3200 and 18-55mm lens for $549, or the D3200 with 18-55mm Lens, Lens Cleaning Pen, Bag, 16GB Memory Card & Extra 55-200mm Lens for $749. I likely won't be making this purchase until near the end of the year, so I may be able to get a better deal with the holiday sales.

Are these good options for a beginner, or would you recommend another route.

Thank you in advance for any assistance.

The $749 package is, IMHO, not that good a value. I think that YES, there will be some extraordinarily good deals upcoming this Holiday season. Nikon and dealers both have a generous over-abundance of cameras built up in inventory, and Nikon has been offering discounts, and there are end-of-life and no MAP (no Minimum Advertised Price) deals on the D5200 now,so...the deals will be forthcoming, you can bank on it. Black Friday, Christmas, both will have good deals aplenty.

Meanwhile, you might be able to add another couple hundred to your budget before then.

Also, HEAVILY discount those extras such as the lens pen and a bag. You might wish to purchase a lens pen someday, but IMO the dealers are pumping up the item count in their deal by throwing in some fairly inexpensive items to hook the newbie. You end up paying a premium for stuff you might never use.