Need help picking a 24-70

Netskimmer

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I put up a post in the equipment forum because I didn't see this one. So I thought I would give this forum a shot. I was initially trying to decide between the new nikkor 24-70 VR and it's predecessor. Most of the reviews on the new lens aren't exactly glowing. I've have also started to consider the Tamron 24-70. The Tamron has very good reviews and is considerably cheaper. I can afford the new Nikkor VR but I wouldn't be too upset with saving $1,000 if the Tamron can get the job done.

It's going to be a general purpose "walk around" lens.

So what do you guys think of these three?

The Tamron will get the job done.

I like the Tamron too!

I have no experience with any of them. So I'll guess the VR Nikkor will be softer because of the VR feature and the Non VR version of the lens will perform better. The Tamron is likely to be about the same as the VR Nikkor in terms of performance but not as sturdy or reliable. So without personal experience I would choose the non-VR version of the Nikkor. I can't imagine why you would need VR for this focal length range anyway. But the Tamron is probably a better value overall if you don't beat your gear up. In the end my pick would be the non-VR Nikkor.

I am a little out of place here in my response as I am a Canon shooter but I just recently went through the process of selecting a 24-70 myself. My decision came down to the Tamron and the Canon 2.8L II.