Need help with understanding Apeture

Serious Amature

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am a new photographer and am slowly trying to learn the ropes. I have previously had no experience what so ever with photography when I was moved by Eli Reeds work. That was when I decided I wanted to become a photojournalist and work my way into the field. So after several months of reading and research I jumped in and bought a Canon 40D...I LOVE the camera. But it has been a very steep learning curve. I am currently using an EF 28-135mm lens. I am having difficulty understanding the AV mode in terms of Focus. With my limited experience I have been having difficulty with getting the "sweet spot" or focus exactly where I want it. I have messed with the AF points and what not, but the band of focus just really doesnt do the job sometimes. Occasionally i get all of the subject in focus with the nice blur behind, but most of the time I cant repeat this. I was hoping someone would point me in the right direction, and explain to me or send me a link that would tell me what effect the size of the aperture had on the band of focus or am i just limited by my lens. Thanks in advance for any help or advice.

In a nutshell, the higher your F-number, the more you will have in focus.
I'd really recomment a "Photography for dummies" book from your library to get you started (no offense).

Ha no offense taken, I have been reading several books on the subject, but for some reason the Aperture and the numbers just is not sinking in. I recently purchased Understanding Exposure and the Photographers Eye which have been helpful.

APERTURE