Need Point and Shoot Recommendation for Convenience and Security issues

Valkyria_Cneajna

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm relatively new to photography and never touched a DSLR until taking an intense journalism course over the past year. I will be looking into getting an SLR but for now just looking for a nice (at least better than my current one) compact point and shoot for times when I do not want to lug around a heavy camera bag with pricey equipment and more specifically for events that forbid use of DSLRs. I attend concerts frequently, often DSLRs are not allowed; I've managed to take decent pictures with my Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ11 since 2008.

Currently I'm contemplating between the Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX5 (more compact, better aperature and ISO) and The Panasonic Lumix DMC FZ150 (much more zoom). Of course I'm open to other brands and models (just prefer controls I am used to); one of my biggest concerns is large point and shoot cameras causing security hassles at events forbidding SLRs. The Lumix DMC FZ150 is somewhat large and I'm worried that due to the camera's size security may think it is professional and confiscate it (has anyone had this problem with a large P&S)

Any advice appreciated

Thank you so much

Valkyria_Cneajna said:
I'm relatively new to photography and never touched a DSLR until taking an intense journalism course over the past year. I will be looking into getting an SLR but for now just looking for a nice (at least better than my current one) compact point and shoot for times when I do not want to lug around a heavy camera bag with pricey equipment and more specifically for events that forbid use of DSLRs. I attend concerts frequently, often DSLRs are not allowed; I've managed to take decent pictures with my Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ11 since 2008.