New camera

sinaali

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi guys,

How is everything?

As beginner photographer I need a piece of advice to buy a new camera. My current camera is a Panasonic-Lumix-FZ20 with LEICA lens. Actually I am content with this one but I really want to buy a SLR type with some modern features.

So please advise me on this matter.

Thank you.

Ali

First questions would be, what features do you need, how many MP, and how much do you want to spend?

Thank you for your reply.

It's a good question, but as a beginner my answers may be funny! ;)

Good features mean:

1- At least 10MP resolution
2- Good range of aperture number
3- Good range of shutter speed
4- Should be SLR
5- Should be full frame (If it's possible)-Please tell me more about this issue
6- Has good special effects
7- Has good optical zoom
8- I could change its lens

About its price range I need something between USD1000-1500

Thanx

Last edited:
Sinalli - I would suggest you research this site as there are tons of "which camera to buy" threads that will offer a variety of opinions. Canon, Nikon, Pentax, Olympus, and Sony are the primary players in the dSLR arena. To address your specific points:

1- At least 10MP resolution - Most current dSLRs are 10-12mp, so this should not be an issue in your search. The 1 camera that you likely will read about that is less than 10mp is the Nikon D40. Many people just love that camera, which is 6mp. That model has been discontinued, but pretty widely available as a used or refurb model.

2- Good range of aperture number - This is a lens issue, not a camera issue.

3- Good range of shutter speed - Most are going to range from bulb (ie - any amount of time) to 1/4000th of a second.

4- Should be SLR - Agreed! Opens up a world of possibilities.