New DSLR owner - some first photos

boucher28

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Recently bought my first dslr, Canon xti, with MUCH help from members here. Thank you! Here are a few photos I took on a nature walk with my kids yesterday. Nothing fancy, just thought I'd share. any critique is welcome of course. photos shot with Canon xti, 18-200mm f/3.5-6.3 lens

IMG_7251.jpg

IMG_7256.jpg

IMG_7302.jpg

IMG_7300.jpg

IMG_7297.jpg

IMG_7270.jpg

I like the first 3 phots.

1- I like creeks, but still this is a bit dull.

2- Don't shot downward. Get down there with it to shot a different vantage point.

3- Snap shot, but I still like it.

4- Snapshot

5- Snapshot

This is a fairly good start, however, most of these are snapshots. Take this as you want it, as I am still relatively new to the hobby, but this is what I would do.

The one with the most merit is number 2 I think. However, I would go back either around sunrise or an hour or so before sunset to get much better lighting. It looks like these were shot in the middle of the day when the light is harshest and also flattest. This leaves for little contrast and dull pictures. The low angle that the sun is at close to sunrise / sunset produces side lighting which produces more texture and contrast in most scenes. It is also a much warmer color temperature and can bring out some very nice colors in a scene.