New guy needs some critiquing please

indeedies

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I found this site about two weeks ago and have been completely hooked since. This is a great forum! It really makes me want to improve on the little knowledge I have.
4113311945_a045b5e6f9.jpg

4114083674_873407783c.jpg

4113329731_053387a8c1.jpg

What I'm really looking for are ways to improve. I'm just now beginning to understand how my camera works but not really sure how to manipulate it to my wantings.

I have a Nikon D70s with the kit lens and a 55-200mm VR lens. I'm getting the 50mm 1.8 in a few weeks for my birthday and if I were to get another one for Christmas what do you think is best.

And on more question; what's the best way to post from Flickr? I'm new to that site as well and the previous post I saw on this subject didn't work. I was unable to right click on the image to retrieve the URL.

Thanks for the help!

Nevermind about the posting from Flickr. I think I have a grasp on it now ;)

Number 1 is just a snapshot. Cute kid but image is nothing special.
Number 2, I like the backlighting on the tree - good job in capturing it. Although it isn't poping out if you were to flash it from behind, it is still nice.
Number 3 - RAINBOW!!! :)

Keep it up

2-nicely seen,and captured. 3-rainbow with lighthouse (?) in background-nicely captured. 1-snapshot that will become a treasured memory someday. Making the camera bend to your will--that takes only 2 or 3 years to learn, and a lifetime to master, I suppose.

Next lens? For a D70s. I am going to suggest an odd choice, but I think the Sigma 24mm f/1.8 EX DF macro in Nikon's AF-D focusing system would be a good choice as a very unusual, capable lens. For $110 less money, the Nikkor 24mm f/2.8 AF-D would be a smaller,lighter, less-bulky option.

.Sigma 24mm f/1.8. - a set on Flickr