New Here. And this is my first QUESTION =D

STARSITY GRAPHICS

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm a Graphic Designer that wants to get into photography. I've done my own photography before, but it would always be done using a friends camera. But now that I'm wanting to go out and purchase my own I was trying to figure out which system I should consider in buying. I've used a Nikon before & a Canon...but I've never used a SONY SLR digital camera...are they any good?

They are OK DSLRs but it's best to stick to Nikon and Canon as they have the most lenses and know what they are doing as they have been doing it for some time. There are millions of other reasons as well...

Thank you for your input! I guess I'll be getting a Canon. Which do you use? Nikon or Canon? and if Canon...any suggestions on Which Canon models are ideal for someone just starting off? from the cheapest but yet good quality...to the Higher priced ones.

Sony, Pentax and Olympus make good cameras that are very capable to do photography. The issue with them is that they dont have a huge set of pro level lenses and bodies. If you want to do general shooting of your kids at the park or on a trip, all three are very capable. I believe its the Sony A850 that is a full frame, 24 mp camera that has image stabilization built IN to the body.

The issues with going with those 3 are accessibility of used gear. Most people shoot Canon or Nikon, making the used market pretty popular.

And in terms of pro, high end lenses and bodies, they try to compete but Nikon and Canon offer such great high end products.