New here, help with purchase?

JemmaLeeTog

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
hi

I am wanting a bit of advice on a new camera purchase.
I can only afford second hand and want to upgrade from my very battered poor basic Nikon D300 to a fuller framed Nikon. (budget 1k total with new lens)
I am wanting to take more low light images so also tips on the best lens?

I have been look at the D700 as I don't have much of a budget.
I am previously a business owner but had to give up due to family commitments and looking to bring my creative side back.

I learnt many lessons in my couple of years so I am not a complete newbie.

The main thing I did learn is to shoot things I actually LOVE to shoot and not try to be a tog to everything and everyone.

I am wanting to start documenting my work rather than jumping into business mode. Im so fed up of seeing amateurs with shocking images ripping people off so hoping people like my work and start a following, with the eventuality of leading into a business one day.

I am wanting to shoot documentary type family imagery within homes (so occasional low light). I hate flash and prefer all natural light.
I will be doing outdoors photography too, mainly within forestry type scenes. Depending on the season.

I have current work to show from my D300 (50mm 1.8G lens) if interested.

thanks

I'll say my welcomes here. Welcome!

I'm curious as to why you are considering the D700 for your stated purposes. I am not familiar with its low-light performance, although that camera is on my own wish list due to its excellent performance in portraiture.

I also wonder what you find lacking in the D300? I should think that as long as it is working, you should be able to continue to use it, except perhaps in low light conditions. Why not learn flash? It doesn't always have to be that harsh light that everyone hates.