New here, need some pointers!

EMcCollam

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi there!
My name is Erica and I am pretty new to photography. When I had my son a year ago my husband got me the Sony DSC H9, and I have been obsessed ever since. Here are some of my pictures, I would love to get feedback! Please don't be afraid to pick them apart, I really just want to learn more and get better.
Thanks! Hope to talk to some of you soon!

Beach3.jpg

Beach7.jpg

beach17.jpg

stjohn9.jpg

stjohn8.jpg

stjohn7.jpg

StJohn3.jpg

StJoh1.jpg

First off, welcome to the forums. You've got some nice looking photos. For future reference, it's much easier to ensure that the right image is being referred to if they are numbered. As well, five or fewer is generally considered appropriate for effective critique. That aside, here we go:

1. A nice capture, well exposed; a couple of minor points: (1) The subject is too centred, the rule of thirds is a good guideline for this type of work; (2) His shirt is just a little bright (a little bit of burning will fix it right up) and (3) Try and have the subject look toward you. Not necessarily right down the lens, but at least in the general direction of the camera.

2. This one is very nice, even though it's taken from behind, it works quite well, and since the subject is looking at something, it's not necessary that he look at/toward the camera (photographic rules have the consistency of warm Jell-O). The image does seem to have a slight blue caste however; perhaps the white balance wasn't quite spot on? There's a lot of open space in the background which serves little purpose; perhaps a closer crop?

3. This is a nice idea, however, it would have been better if it were more closely composed on just his hands. The bit of leg image left is rather distracting.

4. Fine technically, but the similarity of the tones makes for a less than riveting image in my opinion.