New home studio

haynie90

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
just purchased a home studio in a box deal comes with 2 backdrops w/b backdrop stand 3 constant lights 1 big main 2 small fills and soft boxes for all i have never done any type of studio shooting before

What advice do you have for using constant lighting

is a stobe going to become a necessity and if so what type how many and all other details that can be provided

i welcome all studio shooting advice and will be posting some pics on this thread for c&c

Make sure your air conditioning works.

SEND IT BACK! They're junk.
What is the wattage of that constant light? It'd have to be something like 1000 WPS in order to illuminate a photograph.
With constant lights if it says 100W that is 100 watts over one second. So if your shutter is at 1/250 (pretty reasonable for a live subject) you would get 2.5 watts of light. In order to get 100W of light you would have to start with 40each 100W bulbs.

* Thread Moved * - To - Lighting and Hardware

Constant lights are for use with inanimate subjects. With inanimate subjects shutter speeds longer than 1 second can be used along with a good steady tripod.

If you are going to be shooting people, you really want to use strobed light (flash), because people move and shutter speeds of 1/100 or shorter are needed to prevent motion blur and/or camera shake if the camera is hand held.

For most photographic work, strobes are preferred, and while it might not seem logical, it's MUCH easier to light a subject with a couple of good strobes. Not all constant lights are junk, but chances are, if it was an inexpensive eBay or Amazon package, then it'll last just long enough to get half-way through your first shoot...

thanks alot i am now seeing that strobes would have been a more reasonable purchase but i dont plan on returning the constants as i may find some use for them also it would cost almost as much in shipping :/