New Photographer. Looking for Critique.

Toph112

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi Everyone,

I'm new to photography, about 7 months in. I am now taking photos will manual settings and I wanted to post a picture that I thought was some of my best work thus far. Since I am new though, I wanted to get input from experienced photographers! I would appreciate any insight!
Abby in Dance Outfit BW 2 Web.jpg

Thanks!

Where is the light? Why so dark? The looking away looks distracting to me.

The looking away doesn't bother me. She looks deep in thought, but it is a bit too dark for my tastes. Welcome!

Caveat: I am not what one might refer to as an "experienced photographer" ;)

Looks good on its technical merits. Not certain about what emotion it's meant to convey or evoke, however. The little girl looks almost frightened, or perhaps startled, which evokes a darkness for which I do not care. If she'd had a more thoughtful, pensive or curious expression I think I'd have found it more interesting than ...disturbing?

Welcome, I'm sure there will be some pro's around soon to give better tips. But coming from me, there a few things that bother me.
  • Like mentioned, not enough light
  • seems a tad soft
  • cut off the fingers, and the top of the bow (maybe an upright ie portrait crop would look better)
  • Very central
That's my 2 pence. Welcome to the forum, if you don't have a thin skin, and you're willing to learn, this place is fantastic.

If you allow people to edit your photos,they can show you what they mean as well.

Hi and welcome! Agree that this is underexposed. Why b&w? She looks mostly gray. A beautiful little girl in a party dress begs for color, IMO.

Cute kid! I do like the expression, and it's made me think of whether this is a candid or whether you asked for such a pose? She looks very imaginative, and the outfit seems to fit.

I agree with the others, it's very dark and very grey.