New Studio Set up

Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi everyone! I'm not a new photographer, but I'm new to studio. I have never worked at a studio or even seen how it all works, but I would like to set up a small studio in my home. So I'm asking for a LOT of help :)

I'm going to need to buy everything and learn how to operate everything. I saw a previous post about a studio in a box, but I have a Nikon D200 and would prefer to hook up the equipment to my camera. I think I would rather have a soft box but don't know the difference between them and umbrellas. Can anyone ellaborate on the differences or let me know which ones they like better? Is there an easy package for me to get?

Also, is there a good book or video that gives instruction on how to set up/operate studio equipment? ie: what settings/exposures to use?

I know this is a lot but I would greatly appreciate any help!!!

Thanks!
Kristi

Welcome to the forum.

Let's narrow down your options.

Do you want to shoot with constant lights (lamps) or flash/strobe? If you are shooting people, I'd strongly suggest flash.

Do you want to be portable or will this be for in your studio only. You can do wonders with battery powered flash units (the type you would use on your hotshoe). They are relatively less expensive and are very portable if you want to shoot on location.
The alternative is 'studio' style strobes which are bigger, more powerful and plugged into AC current...which makes them a lot less portable.

I like softboxes better than umbrellas, especially when shooting in a smaller space like a home studio...but they are harder to transport & store etc.

What is your budget for setting up your studio? What else, besides lights do you want to get? Backgrounds etc.