new to film, nikon F5 or F6?

tossik

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
im new to film and im new here too :), been using digital all my life, i took film photography in school few years back and enjoyed it, so i want to get a nice film camera, and ive been looking at the nokon F5 and F6 and wanted to know from anyone the differences between the two.. i also want to develop and make my own prints so i want a nice quality pictures... so plz help me out here plz...

thanks, Tolik.

There are a lot of options in 35mm. It really depends on if you need auto focus and how accurate you need it to be. I would go with the F5 if I had to choose btw those two, because I think the F6 is way more camera than anyone needs who isn't shooting very fast moving objects.

However, I think there are other equally good options, especially in that price range.

well i wanna shoot spesial events and portraits and things like that... so what would i use? what other onces that are good out there?

Neither. look into an N80 or F100 and a really good lens. my 30 year old FE can make the exact same quality picture as an F5 or F6 when the same lens is used.

The only reason you need bodies like that is if you're shooting sports or going into Iraq and you need something that can survive a bullet.

well im considering of getting the f5, so what good lenses do i need? i dont know much about lenses... i want to take good close portraits and nice farther shots... what should i use?

The AF is better on the F5 than the F100. However, the F100 is lighter.

You might also consider the Canon EOS 1v if you want a be-all-end-all 35mm.

The AF is better on the F5 than the F100. However, the F100 is lighter.

You might also consider the Canon EOS 1v if you want a be-all-end-all 35mm.