New to macros - not sure where to start

Abby Rose

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Might this be better posted in the beginners forum? I'm new to photography in general and I'm over there most of the time but I think it might be good to ask here first because you guys are the macro people. :) I'm sorry if this is the wrong place.

I am drawn to macro photography. It's one of my favorites, possibly my favorite kind to look at. So I would like to do some!

However, I am not sure where to start. I have a sony H50 camera - a point and shoot (but its a good point and shoot!) that has decent - I think - macro capabilities. Someone recommended a raynox lens to put over the top of the regular lens for better macros, but it (the H50) has a weird thread size and so I dont think a raynox would fit unless I could find some sort of step-up or step-down ring for it. I'm still very confused on what can be attached to this camera. :confused: Filters, conversion lenses, the more I read, the more questions I have.

Also, flash/light. My camera can get pretty close to things and still get them in focus, like about a few centimeters away, but then of course the lens blocks all the light except in certain circumstances. As for flash, I've used the flash (the built-in) a few times, but I'm of course limited because of the lens being in the way and shadowing anything close.

Can anyone direct me to a place I could start reading to learn more? Perhaps a website, or a book? Or would someone like to give me a few tips?

Here are a few examples of my attempts. Except for the dew (which could be sharper, anyway), they are all pretty atrocious. And they are all pretty tight crops.

pinecone - is this even technically a macro? I kind of dont think so. You can definitely tell that this one a tight crop. :(
4544040715_f839aeec10_b.jpg

dew
4541215301_dc24fa0270_b.jpg

more dew
4541848758_0acfedecd1_b.jpg