New to photography

shadow1983

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi,

I just got into photography about year ago and I a job with my high school (I am a freshman) newspaper to take pictures of my school's ice hockey team. I went to our teams practice to do some practice shoots and they came out blurry. I used the sports setting on my camera and I was trying to pan. The plexiglass also makes it hard for me to shoot the team. Should I buy a new lens or can I take good pictures with what I have? My camera is a Canon Rebel XS.

Any tips or tricks would be so helpful.

First, give manual mode a shoot, and try (without making the photos to dark) using the highest shutter speed possible. That should get rid of your blur.

Hope that helps!

Open the aperture nice and wide (biggest number you can get out of your lens). Boost the ISO up as much as you can without thinking the results look too bad to use.

This will allow you to use the fastest shutter speed you can squeeze out of whatever lens you're using, which will help you freeze the action and not have blurry shots.

First, take your camera off the automatic modes. Use aperture priority, shutter priority, or manual. Open your aperture all the way. Crank your ISO as far as you're willing to take it, and try again. You need fast shutter speeds for sports. You can try to pan, but you're still going to need relatively fast speeds (1/15-1/30, I would imagine). If you're using a slow lens, you need to do everything you can to get your shutter speed as high as possible.

EDIT: Bah, Buckster beat me by a minute! :greenpbl:

I suspect that the "sports" setting that you use would try to maximize our recommendations (fast shutter speed, open aperture, high ISO). Therefore, if you go back to shoot, you might find that you get the same results.

You probably need lenses that can open up to f/2.8 or faster (1.8, 1.4, etc).