New to photography

newonmars

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello photoforum!

Im pretty new to photography, like serious photography, and I was wondering what is a good way to start to really get into it.
Thanks in advance! :)

Read your camera's manual, then read it again. Search YouTube for 'How to' clips on things like exposure, composition, etc, shoot LOTS (Remember, it's digital, film is cheap!) and post images here for critique and review.

Select a theme and shoot that theme.

Some people do a "project 365" taking (at least) one picture a day following a theme.

Learn to tell a good photograph from one that is just "so-so".

A lot of reading will help:

1) Bryan Peterson's "Understanding Exposure" is a very good primer intended for those who are completely new but want to learn to use a DSLR (or any camera that can be used in "manual" mode.)

2) The Scott Kelby Digital Photography Boxed Set -- this is a four volume set.

3) The Michael Freeman series "The Photographer's Eye: Composition and Design for Better Digital Photos", "The Photographer's Mind: Creative Thinking for Better Digital Photos", and "The Photographer's Vision: Understanding and Appreciating Great Photography".

I would also say "get out there and shoot" but I prefer to say "get out there and shoot with a goal or purpose" ... deliberately created photos will force you to learn faster than just shooting randomly, hoping to get lucky, and then for some reason thinking that when a random shot turns out to be good you'll actually know specifically WHY that shot was good. However you will have to "get out there and shoot".

Hello photoforum!

Im pretty new to photography, like serious photography, and I was wondering what is a good way to start to really get into it.