Newbie here, not planning on shooting a wedding ;-P

keljbj

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I was a little unsure about introducing myself, having read some disturbingly negative newbie posts. But i figure since i'm not planning on charging anyone for my photos or taking anyones wedding pics i should be ok ;):lol:

Anyway, i'm new here, kind-of new to photography. I've had my DSLR for about 3 years, have been shooting in manual for around the last year. But i still consider myself a novice, and have alot to learn. I'm hoping thats where you guys come in :D

I'm still trying to find my style. My main subject matter is nature, but i also love taking photos of my children and my cats, and a bit of randomness thrown in.

Here is a recent photo i took of my daughter. Please be gentle with me ;)

$Acacia1.jpg

welcome! Did you apply some sort of blur effect the the photo of your daughter?

I am extremely rude to the wannabe pros that are already charging for crap! Most of them are convinced they know it all already anyway! We see so much of that it is not funny anymore! lol!

If you really want to learn, and aren't going to be one of THOSE.. we will get along fine!

Welcome! We can be a bit intimidating for some, but I'm sure you'll be fine. I can't critique too much because I'm still a newbie too, but the first thing I notice is the blurriness of it. Did you do some Post processing?

Definitely post processed; (can see the lines where you edged the blur when zoomed), which isn't a problem, but why process it? It looks like it would have been a good photo on its own! :) Learning when NOT to PP is good to learn, but its up to each person individually!

The people on here are usually good! Just don't be afraid to take criticism; if you don't like being critiqued, you probably won't like this site!

Woah! That's some mighty smooth skin she has! :p