Newbie in Colorado seeking advice

SubOhmGirl

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi all,
So, I have been a point and shoot photographer for years. I have always loved having a pocket camera and going out and taking pictures. Recently, I decided to take things up a notch and learn at a much more serious level.

So.... today my brand new Nikon D3400 arrived. Yay!!! It came in a bundle with a bunch of stuff but my only lens so far is a 18-55mm f3.5-5.6G VR AF-P DX Nikkor zoom lens. According to my research it's a great little lens but I need more. As far as my subjects and style goes... I love nature and animals/wildlife maybe the most but I definitely have interest in macro, portraits and urban/architecture as well. The one thing I don't have any interest in is video. I am most definitely ballin on a budget...

My question is: what lenses and accessories would you all recommend that I buy first and why? I already have a backpack and tripod as well as a remote, couple of memory cards, a cleaning kit, a digital slave flash, a 55mm tulip shaped lens hood, an ultimaxx 6 piece gradual color filter kit, and an ultimaxx UV filter. I don't know if any of this stuff is good... Also, I don't mind used gear and would like to keep my first shopping trip under $300.

Hi, and welcome!

You're going to want a longer lens for animals/wildlife, and a macro (Nikon "micro") lens.

I think most people can hand-hold a fairly long lens, say up to around 300mm, but get one with VR. You'll need to practice holding it steady, and always have the option of using a tripod or monopod as well.

I agree with Designer that if you want wildlife you will want at least a 300mm lens what's your budget? to give people an idea of what they can recommend that's in the budget

Use what you have. In time you will learn for yourself what you need to add.