Newbie Looking For Advice On Purchasing New Camera & Lens

Xarcell

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I have a few questions I wanted to ask from the experts and experienced lot.

I'm very new to photography. I'm looking at purchasing my first serious camera. Right now I'm looking at buying the Pentax K-X bundle with 18-55mm lens and 55-300mm lens kit.

After alot of studying and research, I figured this would be my biggest bang for the buck. Plus, I like some of the features it has.

Now I've recently somewhat learned the difference between a entry-level camera and a professional one. One piece of advice I read was to buy an entry level camera body, and buy a pro lens. This way I could buy a pro camera later on and not worrying about buying the lens again.

What would you recommend?

How can I tell the difference between a entry level lens and a pro lens? What sites/brand would you recommend I buy? I'm not made out of money, but have been saving for a few months. I'll save a little longer if need be.

As it stands though, I'm looking at buying the Pentax K-X bundle in 2 weeks(payday). I want all the advice I can get on this.

Buying a nice DSLR is something I'm dead set on doing. Wanting to upgrade from my expensive point & shoot cameras. Just not sure about which way I should start out...

Any Advice?

cant go wrong with canon my friend any of the rebels are nice and a good prime lens will do you good

Get the comparable Canon or Nikon with the Kit lens. Maybe a $100 more, but you won't regret it.

I was thinking of holding out and buying the Canon T2i with 18-55mm lens. But I wouldn't have the cash to buy anymore lens for quite some time. Not until after the holidays anyways. The way I take pictures, I need a 55-200mm or 55-300mm lens aside from the 18-55mm

cant go wrong with canon my friend any of the rebels are nice and a good prime lens will do you good