NIKKOR AF-S Micro 40mm. Autofocus problem

Philip Jones

TPF Noob!
Joined
Apr 3, 2020
Messages
2
Reaction score
1
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
The lens itself is very good. I use it with the Nikon D3100 to do a lot of timelapse of flowers opening. That's from bud to fully open flower. A single session can take several hours so everything gets bolted down solid in a quiet room with no disturbance.

Not much latitude for focal-depth so I'm careful to select an aperture that will keep everything in focus while allowing for the movement of the flower itself. Flowers move a lot of their own accord.

Here's the rub: Even when the lens is set to manual focus, the lens sometimes remains on autofocus.

Has anyone any experience with this? Is this a problem with the mechanical switch on the lens? The lens itself was bought new about a year ago.
 

tirediron

Watch the Birdy!
Staff member
Supporting Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2005
Messages
45,747
Reaction score
14,800
Location
Victoria, BC
Website
www.johnsphotography.ca
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
How do you know the lens is remaining in AF? Don't forget, there's an AF mode selector in-body as well as the lens control. Are both set to 'M'?
 

RVT1K

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Joined
Jan 3, 2019
Messages
1,294
Reaction score
787
Location
Near Albany, NY
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
How do you know the lens is remaining in AF? Don't forget, there's an AF mode selector in-body as well as the lens control. Are both set to 'M'?

I was under the impression that the switch on the lens would "force" the lens into manual focus no matter what else?
 

tirediron

Watch the Birdy!
Staff member
Supporting Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2005
Messages
45,747
Reaction score
14,800
Location
Victoria, BC
Website
www.johnsphotography.ca
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
How do you know the lens is remaining in AF? Don't forget, there's an AF mode selector in-body as well as the lens control. Are both set to 'M'?

I was under the impression that the switch on the lens would "force" the lens into manual focus no matter what else?
Absolutely, or at least it is supposed to do that. I suppose in some unlikely event if the switch on the lens was a bit dodgy and the in-body control was set to AF-S/AF-C something could happen. Seems VERY unlikely, but...
 

RVT1K

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Joined
Jan 3, 2019
Messages
1,294
Reaction score
787
Location
Near Albany, NY
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
How do you know the lens is remaining in AF? Don't forget, there's an AF mode selector in-body as well as the lens control. Are both set to 'M'?

I was under the impression that the switch on the lens would "force" the lens into manual focus no matter what else?
Absolutely, or at least it is supposed to do that. I suppose in some unlikely event if the switch on the lens was a bit dodgy and the in-body control was set to AF-S/AF-C something could happen. Seems VERY unlikely, but...


"Dodgy" is an expression I learned from my English coworkers. Just like "wonky" and "fiddly bits"...
 

Derrel

Mr. Rain Cloud
Joined
Jul 23, 2009
Messages
48,227
Reaction score
18,916
Location
USA
Website
www.pbase.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
You need to set the switch on the body to M.
Perhaps the switch in the lens is not working properly , that would be my guess.
 
OP
P

Philip Jones

TPF Noob!
Joined
Apr 3, 2020
Messages
2
Reaction score
1
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
How do you know the lens is remaining in AF? Don't forget, there's an AF mode selector in-body as well as the lens control. Are both set to 'M'?

Many thanks for all the responses. The switch on the lens should disable autofocus. Mine used to but doesn't anymore. Looks like I'm going to have to get it fixed. I rely on the switch because I don't like touching the camera once it has been set up.

As for Manual Focus on the D3100, it is not an option that appears on the normal menu. Not on mine at least and I do have the latest software update.

To set Manual Focus on the D3100, you have to go via the "I" button, move the cursor to the focus setting and select from there. I'm ashamed to admit that I didn't know that. I assumed that all options were available via the Menu button.

Anyway, I can continue. Many thanks to all.
 

Most reactions

Top