Nikon D40 Help

ichrispro

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
So I am wanting to buy a first camera (I am a total newbie), and the Ritz has a D40 kit on sale for $499. Is this a good buy? Is this a good choice of camera? Help please!

There are people here who love the D40, and people here who HATE the D40. If you do a search, you will find TONS of posts about it.

Usually the consensus is, go and actually hold the camera and see if you like it in your hand.

The other camera you might want to check out is the Canon Rebel Xt or Xti. Another very popular beginner camera.

Hey,
I bought a D40 two weeks ago, and love it! I got mine for 450, with a 1gb memory card... so probably saved around 80 bucks from what you would buy it for with the mem card. Samys camera is a pretty good place to buy a camera, its where I got mine. I'm not sure if you can buy it online though...

Can you do selective focus with your D40 and the lens it comes with? (Sorry for my lack of lingo I'm so new to this). What I mean is like having the subject clear and the background out of focus.

That all depends on your aperture. You would want to shoot with a lower number, which would give you a lower depth of field.

That all depends on your aperture. You would want to shoot with a lower number, which would give you a lower depth of field.

Oh. Well I don't really understand what you mean :confused:. So what your saying is the camera is capable of doing it but you have to change a setting or something. (sorry if I sound stupid)

Oh. Well I don't really understand what you mean :confused:. So what your saying is the camera is capable of doing it but you have to change a setting or something. (sorry if I sound stupid)

Hey man, no problem. When I started photography about a year ago, I was really confused too... :lol: