Nikon D40 vs Sony A200?

AnthonyCorbo

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Can someone help me with a comparisson of the two camera's?
All aspects such astechnical, lens choices etc?

I will try not to be rude when I ask why are you comparing them when you seem to already have the D40?

dpreivew.com

Just saw your thread about the 40 being up for sale. I personally think you wouldn't be gaining much by going to the 200. I would start at the 350 and go up if you're considering going with Sony. That live view on the 350 is great for the price.

~Michael~

I could but I won't.

Instead, I will say look at the LENS systems for the two cameras. Digital cameras come and go, but the lenses you will own for 10 or 20 years... so as a NOOB my advise is to look at which LENS system you like the best.

I shoot Nikon because I like Nikon lenses... not because of a particular camera body.

That choice is far more important than which entry level camera body you will buy, especially when both cameras will make excellent pictures (as the D40 and A200 both will).

I understand it might look weird butthey have a deal going on at mylocal camera store for a a200 with kit lens aswellas 70-300 mm zoom lens for 550$ so i was wandering if it'sadecent camera because a zoom for my d40 is 300$ so if i can sellmy d40 for 400$ i can save some money. thats why i was wandering what you guys thought of the a2oo.
sorry for the confusion.

The thing is... it really doesn't matter what the PRICE of the lens is... you can get cheap lenses in any mount... it is about the QUALITY of the lens.

For example... Tamron makes a FANTATIC sharp 70-300 lens with macro that will work great on your D40 for only $131 at Amazon. Yes, it has an internal motor and will work great with your D40. I own this lens... here's a shot I took with it:

antz.jpg

Don't worry about the camera bodies, just pay attention to the lenses.