Nikon D5000 - need a better lens for outdoor shoots

addyboo

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am wondering if anyone can give me some advice on some auto focus lens that I can use to improve my outdoor shoots. I'm a portraiture photographer and need it to get more light into my camera so I don't have to depend of my flash ALL the time.

I contacted my local photo shop and they mentioned these two lenses. What's your input?
AF-S 35mm 1.8
AF-S 50mm 1.4

Is there a HUGE difference between the two of these? Also 35mm vs 50mm. What's best for what I do?

Thanks so much!!

What lens do you have now? 18-55 kit lens? What focal length do you usually shoot portraits with it with? Do you zoom in all the way or keep it a little bit out and step closer?

There isn't a huge difference in the aperture, both are fast lenses. The extra 2/3 stop (I think it's 2/3..) on the 50mm make it better for low light.

I'd go with the 50mm for portraits. The increased focal length and maximum aperture or f/1.4 will give you an EXTREMELY shallow depth of field for close-ups, which is difficult to work with at times but very cool when you get the focus right.

if you want to save money and dont really care about auto focus, consider the 50mm f1.8. its about 1/4 the cost of the AFS 50mm f1.4

if you want to save money and dont really care about auto focus, consider the 50mm f1.8. its about 1/4 the cost of the AFS 50mm f1.4

I wouldn't recommend that, having a better 50mm has its benefits. I'd like to replace my cheap Canon 50..

If you want to consider a Sigma 50mm 1.4, it's $500 but a terrific lens, the one I want eventually (only in Canon mount).

[ame=http://www.amazon.com/Sigma-50mm-Nikon-Digital-Cameras/dp/B0018ZDGAW/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1275675320&sr=8-2]Amazon.com: Sigma 50mm f/1.4 EX DG HSM Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras: Electronics[/ame]