Nikon D60, D80, or D200?

Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am just getting into photography. Looking to get telephoto lenses primarily for outdoors and far distances. Just got a good price on a D60 but was told I am very limited on the lenses I can use for this and only the Dx's will work. I am not too deep yet to look at a D80 or D200. Would I be much better off with one of 80 or 200? Like I said just getting into it but if it is like everything else I do I will dive in deep quickly. Would rather start out right then want to upgrade in 6 mos (like I am doing already). Just wondering what the advantages are to the 80 and 200. I am considering both. Please help this super newb. Thank you.

Last edited:
well, start off by researching them both. What do you need in a camera? I would think that a 200 is going overboard for a newbie.

I am just getting into photography. Looking to get telephoto lenses primarily for outdoors and far distances. Just got a good price on a D60 but was told I am very limited on the lenses I can use for this and only the Dx's will work.
Not quite.

"DX" is Nikon's way of saying "APS-C" or "crop sensor". A Nikon DX lens will work on DX bodies and FX (Nikon's "full frame sensor" term) digital bodies -- Nikon FX digital bodies can recognize when a DX lens is mounted and use only a cropped portion of the sensor -- but not on Nikon film cameras. They will mount, but they will cause severe vignetting. No big deal if you don't ever plan on using Nikon 35mm film cameras (I don't). You can use non-DX lenses on a DX body without any problems.