Nikon D7100 pictures seems soft

luisro

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi, I recently bought the D7100 as an upgrade to my D5100. When I started shooting and saw the images I found them a little blurry or soft. I looked some info on the internet and apparently, since it collects more details, it could appear less sharp. Also read something about that RAW pictures may seem less sharp than a JPEG on the camera's LCD(I shoot RAW). I took some demo pictures with a tripod using the same settings on the D5100 and the D7100 and the pictures that came out the D7100 are more sharp, but not tack sharp.

I just want to know:
  1. What is your experience with sharpness on images taken with the D7100 without post-processing?
  2. For an image to be tack sharp I need to work the sharpness on post-processing?
  3. Could be there something wrong with my camera?
  4. I also read something about fine tuning the AF on the lenses, anyone have some experience with this?

I was about to go to Best Buy and take some test shots with a D7100 there so I can compare them with my camera.

Did you buy it new or used?

Either way - reset all your menus and settings and start from scratch in case anybody had set something which has been overlooked.

You have have samples you can post?

The internet would have been all over that if even a faction of the d7100 had any little issues like softness. Either it is an issue with your specific gear or there was human error. In the majority of the cases it is human error.

Have you tried shooting in raw+jpg mode and comparing the two. without post-processing.
My understanding is that if you shoot in raw you will have to post-process, at least as much as the camera does when it converts the sensor data to jpg format.

This is one example... Please let me know if its just me or if you see anything wrong with the picture...

AF-S Nikkor 50mm f/1.8G
ISO 100
f/2.8
1/200

No post processing was done on this one