Nikon D80?

lisa_13

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
im majoring in photography in college next year.
went to ritz camera to get a camera reccomendation, the guy reccommended a nikon D80 and i have to say i am in LOVE with the thing.
buuuuuuuut it's $1100 (i want the 55-135 lens) and i cant really afford that. i know i can get it cheaper at other places.

anyone have a place theyve bought at before for cheap and reccommend? i dont want to spend so much money if its a crap place that won't ship me my stuff.

also, anyone have the D80 and like it or hate it?

thanks!

What's your budget?

You can get the body only from B&H for $730 and a 50mm f/1.8 for $110.

The D80 is a great camera and the 50mm will make you work to get the shots you want rather than relying on a zoom. Great combo. The best thing about the D80 is that (when you're ready) you will have the capability to go wireless off-camera flash straight out of the box with nothing else to buy (besides the flash - SB-600 or SB-800)

Look into the used market, you can pick them up for much less than that. And I wouldn't recommend Ritz unless you have no other option.

Personally... love my D80, its an amazing camera. But keep in mind that camera bodies go from top-of-the-line to "outdated" in a few years. Make your lens choice a higher priority. The D80 has some great features that make taking pictures a lot easier and more enjoyable. But it won't really make your pictures more gorgeous than a D40 would.

I don't know much about the 55-135mm (haven't heard of it actually)... but your shortest focal length will be 1.5 X 55 = 82.5mm. Depending on what type of photography you'll be doing, this may turn out fairly restrictive (eg. for landscape, architectural). Seeing as you're off to a major in photo, the lens may not fit well with some of your assignments.