noob needs some input...

musashi.t2i

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
i posted this at the introduction section. i guess the experts dont check that section out. so here it goes.

hi everyone! complete photography noob here. just got my wife a canon t2i, and of course she wants me to learn how to use it so i teach her.

here is what i got so far, canon t2i, 18-55/3.5-5.6, 55-250/4-5.6... well can anybody please advise me what [COLOR=#990000 ! important][COLOR=#990000 ! important]lens[/COLOR][/COLOR] i need to compliment what i have so far, use of the lens is listed below. or i need to get rid of what i have now and
buy something else instead. please note that i didnt buy the 2 lens that i have now, it came with the camera.

i was looking at these, 50/1.8, 50/1.4, 28/1.8...

also, main use for this is indoor for family/family gathering, outdoor for family/family sports/family gathering(park or the beach), outdoor hiking/landscape... if anybody can advise me as to what lens is best for these situations. also included in the "family" is our 2 year old son who never stay still so most of my shots are multiple hoping to get a keeper or 2.

thank everyone!!!

Hi,

I think if you've only just got the t2i, I would start by using it with the kit lens supplied for a while. There's lots of things it will do just fine. When you're comfortable with the camera and have some ideas of what the kit lens isn't letting you do, and then perhaps look at additional lenses. It will also mean you'll have to get a bit creative sometimes which can result in better photos.

Be very careful on the beach. I don't think I'd want to take my camera there. Perhaps a sturdy ziplock bag or aquapac would be wise.

Agree with Mr. Barney here - freshly bought camera and from my understanding of your post, not much experience - a new lens would be utter over kill.