Not sure which Canon to buy?

photogenetic19

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I've been saving up for a couple of years to get a good DSLR camera and I love and am already familiar with Canon. I took photography all four years of high school, the first two years learning about film and the last two years learning about digital work. During my film years, I learned how to work in the dark room as well as scan negatives and finish prints on the computer, and I used my mom's Canon Rebel xti. Then, during my digital years, I did not have a DSLR so I just used my standard Olympus point and shoot camera, which was fine for this class designed for beginners. However, this camera had low megapixels (I can't remember the exact number atm) so the resolution was not so great. I'm very skilled in photoshop as this was how we edited all of our photos for the class. I am now a sophomore in college and I miss photography so much. I want to get a good Canon DSLR that will allow me to grow with it and last me a long time. I have been researching a little and it seems that the Canon EOS Rebel T3i and the Canon EOS Rebel T2i are both pretty good cameras, and from what I heard they are good for both beginners and intermediate level photographers, which is what I want since I don't want to be limited by lack of features. Do you have any advice or thoughts on what might be a good camera for me? I don't mind spending the money if it will last me a while and allow me to make high resolution prints, however $800 is roughly my limit.

Personally I would buy a used camera + good lens. $800 for a new camera will hardly get you anything.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
All of those combinations you mentioned are cameras designed to be cheap paired with lenses designed to be cheap... I wouldn't go for any of them.