OK I'm getting brave C&C please...

timfrommass

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I've had my D90 for almost a month, and I've finally gotten up the courage to post a few shots. I'm completely new to the DSLR game, I have no photography back ground prior to getting a P&S camera in June. I have some books on the way to learn about exposure and composition, but I'm more than ready for some constructive criticism to help me along the way. Here it goes...

4154996456_ef3fafc093_b.jpg

4152432354_d722b8ae08_b.jpg

4152427680_6d3fd2e07d_b.jpg

4152429908_43a6209b80_b.jpg

-tim

#1 - add a bit of fill light in PP
#2 - like selective colors, though image seems a bit noisy
#3 - too soft for my flavor. Don't cut heads (or any body parts for that matter)
#4 - cute.

not sure what lens you're using, couldn't pull the exif, but boost the sharpness in camera. On D90 and D300, I'm on Standard w/ sharpness+5, Saturation+1.

#3 - too soft for my flavor. Don't cut heads (or any body parts for that matter)
#4 - cute.

not sure what lens you're using, couldn't pull the exif, but boost the sharpness in camera. On D90 and D300, I'm on Standard w/ sharpness+5, Saturation+1.

Just curious, does that imply you shoot in jpeg?

#4 - cute.

Thanks for the advice. The 1st and 2nd image were shot with the 18-105 kit lens. The 3rd and 4th were shot with an older nikkor 28-105 macro lens.

For the first shot, it was a bit brighter out than the way the photo came out. I tried shooting it a bunch of times and it seemed like I either go the highlights in the landscape and lost the detail in the sky, or vice versa. In retrospect I wasn't paying too much attention to ISO (I think i was at 320) would it have helped if I were shooting at a higher ISO? Or are these the type of adjustments that are always made in PP? I don't have PS yet so taking your PP advice isn't something I'll be able to do.