okay so I adjusted my ISO and Apature (sp)

tkme4ard

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I just don't get it :( I get now that ISO deals in graininess and that the more light you have the higher the number more crisp, indoors lower number, less light available. Right? Apature I don't get. From what I read I adjusted for outside, blurry background, no flash set in AV mode on my digital rebel but it looks like the pictures are still over exposed. Don't they look way too orange? (the kids)

5d8c5195.jpg
still trying to get pictures for Christmas cards done and I don't think I like this one any better than the ones I took last week

eee3c1f0.jpg

f69a62e2.jpg

this one I like but I'm thinking she's just photogenic ROFL her pictures tend to turn out great and the rest of the :p

my neighbors girls wanted to be models too so I gave that a whirl
159301e3.jpg

Oooook, so I'm not a professional or anything but this is what I understand of it:
ISO - the lower the number (i,e. 100 vs 400), the sharper the image. 400 will be granier than the 100 speed because generally you are working with less light. As far as aperature goes, the lower the number (i.e. the larger the opening), the more blurry your background becomes. An high aperature number of 16 will produce a very sharp image but you will have to have a lot of light (or a slow shutter speed) to make the picture come out. An aperature of 1 or whatever will blurr the background quite a bit and you can have a very high shutter speed since your aperature opening will be wide and will let in a lot of light. Does that make sense?

By the way, and again no professional, but I think your pictures look fine! The first would be my choice for the x-mas card :)

My understanding is what Taralyn said. Compared to your last post w/ the river in the background, these are hands down better imo. Good job. Would like to see a little larger apurture in #1 so the bg would be more blurry, but if you are not gonna shoot anymore, go w/ it for the card!