On the beach

lee_M

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi all its really bad weather today so between the rain showers i went down the beach! it was really cloudy and over cast:thumbdown:
so i took a few shoots then it started to rain!

Right now i'm NEW to the photography thing and i have only had a camera for 3weeks "So be nice":lol:

IMG_0305.jpg

IMG_0314.jpg

IMG_0303.jpg

IMG_0299.jpg

i like the first one the most, as it focusses on one object ... the others are full of so many things ...

in the last one shallow depth of field would be nicer IMHO ...

the third one appears very flat and unspectacular. I think that one would require a much more interesting perspective. the way it is now, it is neither fish nor meat (errm, German saying ;) )

oh, and I would never go for frames which put a shade on part of the image, personally.

And now for something completely different ... would anyone be interested in a Cornwall/Devon meetup? .. ok , maybe we better make this a thread in the meetup forum ;)

I won't be back in Devon before next year though...

Cool thanks for the advice! 'Shallow depth of field' what does that mean and how can i improve on it?
the third one was flat! or is it the angle that i have taken the picture on thats made it look flater?
As for the border i see what you mean but i have just been messing with CS2 so i'll try and improve on that too

I have this photo aswell, its the first one i have taken using my new canon EF 200mm L lens it was ****ing down with rain! so i think thats why theres not much colour!

IMG_0291.jpg

lee_M said:
Cool thanks for the advice! 'Shallow depth of field' what does that mean and how can i improve on it?
well, use a wider aperture (smaller number), and the field of what will appear un-blurred sharp will get more shallow. That way you achive selective sharpness.

the third one was flat! or is it the angle that i have taken the picture on thats made it look flater?