One light C+C

ChrisedwardsHT

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Tonight I took a couple pictures of my fiance after dinner.I'm still new in LR4 and am trying things out. Here is one I like. I took a shot at a B&W and a color edit. Tell me what you guys think..the good and the bad!! Thanks!!!

Canon 7D, 70-200 2.8, 430ex ii, shoot through umbrella.

1/160, f/8, iso 400

Color Edit by HTchris, on Flickr

B&W Edit by HTchris, on Flickr

Strobist Info by HTchris, on Flickr

there's more light on her chest than on her face, thus making it the focal point.

there's more light on her chest than on her face, thus making it the focal point.
Perhaps because her chest is closer to the light? lol

OP, there is no reason to be shooting at ISO400 unless you are trying to balance ambient light. Shoot at ISO100 and adjust your flash power. It will yield sharper photos.

Good angling of her body in relation to the lens axis. Good head position in relation to the main light's placement. A nice 2/3 view of her face, and a pleasing expression and eye contact. All in all, pretty well-done for a one-light speedlight shot. If there's any "nit", it's the shine the shoot-through gives on her forehead, and cheeks, and to a lesser extent, on her chin. In a kind of lower-key shot like this, the presence of such bright highlights is not quite "perfect". It's not that it's God-awful or anything, but this is the typical signature of so,so many shoot-through umbrellas...